A Day In Baltimore

Quiet By Nature

For a girl who has been anywhere, I was pleasantly surprised when a friend invited me to tag along on a trip to Baltimore. I laugh when I think about it. When I first received the invitation, I didn’t believe it to real. After being asked again to ensure me that the invitation was a firm one, I began considering the possibilities but still had reservations since financially I knew that I could not afford the trip. God is really better to me than I deserve – little by little things began falling into place and before the day was over, I was on my way to Baltimore, Maryland. AMAZING! Not that it was Baltimore, but that I would be going somewhere and in the process would be able to spend time with someone that I simply adore. I didn’t have time to think it all through – as soon as I knew that I would be going; I hurried home, packed a small bag (a pairs of pants, a shirt, a skirt and blouse, sleeping attire, swim suit, pair of sandals, pair of tennis shoes, and toiletries). I should have thought this through a bit more, but again, I have never been anywhere other than to visit family (back home). My excitement level was out the roof. I made arrangements with family to take me to the airport and was surprised when I arrived to find that I would be flying, first class.

American Airlines Plane

My First Class Seat

skyview

Warm Mixed Nuts Snack on the Way to Baltiimore
Warm Mixed Nuts Snack on the Way to Baltimore

God has blessed me to know some beautiful and giving people but I never imagined a summer tour (on a whim- no less). I arrived at BWI Airport, late but was able to see so much on my way to the hotel. The cab driver was gracious enough to tell me a little about Baltimore after asking if I had been there before. As I arrived at the hotel my friend was awaiting my arrival in the Lobby.  I veered out the window of the cab and caught a glimpse of his face; the thing that I do naturally, every time that I get to see him, is to smile. I am sure that it was ear-to-ear. The taxi driver was still speaking to me, but it was as if he were speaking a different language. I had accidentally tuned him out as I noticed my friend opening the door to allow me to exit the vehicle. I was beyond excited could have jumped all over him but it was all that I could do to contain myself.

Baltimore MD

Royal Sonesta Court

Nice Hotel Near the Harbor

Royal Sonesta - The staff treated me well here

It was difficult for me to sleep – my heart was beating fast and I wanted to talk about all the sites that I had seen on the way, but

royal-sonesta-harbor

I am sure since he is used to flying and traveling all the time – it may not have been as joyful to him. Somehow or another I finally drifted off and when I awoke on the next day, I realized that I had a lot of ground to cover in a short time. Technically although I had arrived yesterday – I would be leaving the next morning and would need to make the best of everything I would take in today. Needless to say it didn’t turn out as I had hoped as my thought was to take the bus Penn station and spend a few hours in D.C.; I would then come back to visit the Harbor. My friend on his way out for business, left spending money and had even given me ideas of things to do.

Charm-City-Circulator-Baltimore-Maryland-500x383

As I entered the free Charm City Circulator (free bus), I asked the driver about getting to DC and of course, he began asking if I had seen the Harbor yet. I mentioned that I would be doing that later in the afternoon. He encouraged me that I might want to view the Harbor 1st and then D.C. I should have stuck with my own plan but I found myself exiting the bus and heading over to the harbor. Now as mentioned I was giving spending money but it never dawned on me to take a cab to Penn station. I don’t take cabs where I am from and have never traveled so it never even crossed my mind. When I met with my friend later that evening and he asked about it, I think that I was too embarrassed to say that I just didn’t think about it. The trip would have been so much more effective and fun had I done that. I, however, ended up walking over 10 miles of the Harbor and the streets of Baltimore – visiting museums and various sites. I took a few water tours and ended up in places that would not allow me to take pictures but in all I did well by myself – for the first time. Here a few places that I was able to see and take a quick snap shot of. I do want to add – that I know that I fit the description of a tourist on every level. There were some nice people in Baltimore as there were a few who walked, talked and even provided important information about the city. There was one man who had the day off who decided to walk with me for a little over an hour. The temperature was a smooth 79° and overcast when I began my tour and no humidity in site. As I moved through the day, I totally forgot to have breakfast and lunch – I wanted to see and do everything and ended up losing track of time and never made it back to the Charm City Bus so that I could take my tour of D.C. I missed my opportunity – which kind of makes me a little sad, but I refuse to have regrets about the trip.

Bubba Gumps Baltimore

IMG_9747
bubba-gump-shrimp-co-baltimore BubbaGumps IMG_9755

IMG_9744  IMG_9746 IMG_9743 IMG_9747

Ripley’s Believe It or Not

baltimore-ripleys-believe-it-or-not-museum-inner-harbor-v2005821-1600 ripley-s-believe-it-baltimore IMG_9760 IMG_9763

Michael Jackson Impersonator (Full Concert on the Harbor)

IMG_9769 IMG_9768 IMG_9767 IMG_9766 IMG_9765 IMG_9764

City Hall

city-hall-baltimore

Phoenix Shot Tower – Shot for rifles was made in the “Shot Tower.” Hot lead was dropped from the top of the tower into a tub of water at the bottom. The lead droplets,  formed into perfect bubbles, cooled and hardened as they fell into the cooling tub of water  below.

shot tower shot tower2

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_9849 IMG_9850 shot tower

Farmer’s Market

farmers-market farmers-marketlbaltimore-farmers-market

The Harbor

Baltimore Panaramic harbor federal-hill USS Constellation Baltimore_Hardrock IMG_9862 IMG_9861 IMG_9859 IMG_9860 IMG_9857 IMG_9858 IMG_9856 IMG_9855 IMG_9853 IMG_9852 IMG_9844 IMG_9839 IMG_9838 IMG_9834 IMG_9831 IMG_9832 IMG_9830 IMG_9833 IMG_9829 IMG_9828 IMG_9827 IMG_9826 IMG_9825 IMG_9824 IMG_9823 IMG_9822 IMG_9821 IMG_9820 IMG_9819IMG_9843IMG_9842IMG_9841IMG_9840IMG_9837IMG_9836IMG_9774IMG_9772IMG_9770IMG_9771IMG_9762IMG_9752

The Trade Center (The City View from 27th Floor)

maryland-science-center federal-hill IMG_9751 IMG_9750 IMG_9748 IMG_9785 IMG_9786 IMG_9784 IMG_9783 IMG_9782 IMG_9787 IMG_9788 IMG_9789 IMG_9790 IMG_9791 IMG_9792 IMG_9795 IMG_9796 IMG_9797 IMG_9798 IMG_9800 IMG_9801 IMG_9802 IMG_9807 IMG_9806 IMG_9805 IMG_9804 IMG_9803 IMG_9812 IMG_9811 IMG_9810 IMG_9809 IMG_9813 IMG_9814 IMG_9815 IMG_9816 IMG_9818 IMG_9846 IMG_9847 IMG_9863 IMG_9864 IMG_9865 trade center_baltimore constellation_balitmoreIMG_9777

Reginald F Lewis Museum

Reginald_F_Lewis_Museum_of_MD_African_American_His museum reginald-f-lewis-museum

frederick douglas

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Statue: Frederick Douglas

patterson-park-pagoda patterson-park-pagoda

Science CenterMaryland-Science-Center-2 maryland-science-center-dino

Took a Quick Water Taxi Tour (Outside the Harbor)

 

IMG_9762

Returned to my room to enjoy a nice hot shower, and then to the 7th floor to chill in the salt water pool.

rs salt water pool

That evening I met up with my friend and we had dinner at the Blue Agave (Mexican). Baltimore Restaurant week was going on in the city but we did not participate.  I was not that hungry.

Baltimore-Restaurant-Week-2015-flyer blue-agave-restaurant Blue-Agave

I would need to be up by 4 am to catch a taxi to the aiport the next morning. Before heading off to bed to dream about the day, I was able to chit chat with my friend for a brief minute.  I would have enjoyed the day so much more had I been able to spend time with with him, but duty calls and I believe in the long run the journey happened just as it was supposed to.  No regrets.  I had planned to try crab cakes, see Washington DC, and a handful of other things, but my day was full.  Never in a million years would I have thought that I would have a free trip to Baltimore to see everything that I could possibly see in one day.  WOW FUN! I am totally grateful and exhausted.

Leave a Reply

