The Beginning of The Week

Box

Woke up early this morning to hit the 4:30 am Boxing Class to get my cardio in for the day.  I  normally have to be at work at 5:30 but today, I get to start 30 minutes late.  I like getting my workout in early but my work schedule does not always allow me to do so.  I got to take advantage of it today, which makes me a happy camper. We began with a 10 minute job, had a combination of doing 2 minutes of jumping rope & 2 minutes of push-ups (4 sets) then another 3 minutes of jogging around the gym.  We were then taken through 45 minutes of combinations on the heavy bag (every 10 15 minutes we incorporated 2 minutes of squats, 2 minutes of burpees and 2 minutes of crunches (2 sets)).  Our cool down consisted of going over to the boxing ring (you actually have to step up to get into the ring) but our instructor had us to use that rise  to run up and down that rise for 2 minutes and switch off to do triceps dips (3 sets), 3 more times jogging around the gym and then we partnered up for situps – handing off a medicine ball to our partner, each time we reached the top of the situp.  (4 sets of 25). We completed the workout with doing an arm combination (10 pushups on the floor and then get on our knees and do 10 jumping jack arm, 9 pushups on the floor and then get on our knees and do 9 jumping jack arm, all the way down to 1 and 1)  OUCH!!! Our final part of the work out was a 1 minute plank.  I stopped a couple of times in between but I am doing so much better with the workout.  There are some parts of the workout that I have to modify due to a hurt leg.  In all I am proud of myself. When the alarm went off this morning, I didn’t want to go but was able to talk myself out of every excuse (thank God).  On yesterday I brewed some green tea which I took with me to drink during my workout.

Last night I grilled 3 turkey cutlets that I will eat for the next 3 days for dinner.  My meals will be pretty boring over the next few weeks as I plan to take my eating portions down considerably but I have quite of bit to do for work, school and home.  Cooking for 3 days at a time will assist me in managing my time and ensuring that I prepare my meals so that I wont have the urge to do the wrong thing.  I plan to have Cheerios for breakfast, a hearty salad for lunch and either a grilled piece of Turkey Cutlet or Tilapia (protein) and collard greens for dinner.  I have already prepared the greens however if I get too bored with those I will switch off for different green vegetable (green beans, broccoli, etc.)

tilapia and greensPreparing the Turkey Cutlets – I simply washed them and patted them dry.  But 1 yellow and 1 red bell pepper and put in the bottom of a glass cooking dish.  I lightly seasoned the cutlets with garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, seasoned salt and a few sprinkles of red pepper seeds for spice (optional).  Covered the dish with foil and baked until tender in the oven. Once tender I took off the foil, turned oven on broil to brown the cutlets.

McCormicks has various seasonings that they are coming out with so the for Tilapia – I used one of the McCormicks seasonings for fish and since I like lemon pepper, I used a little.

As for the greens, I washed them well and grilled them in a skillet (with Olive Oil) until they were limp on both sides and removed them.  I continued this technique until all greens were semi-cooked.  I got a large cooking pot and placed a large smoked turkey leg in the pot, and incorporated the greens in the pot along with it.  I seasoned with salt, a sprinkle of garlic powder and 5 table spoons of onion powder.  I don’t used water I normally use organic chicken broth (filled almost to the top of the pot – cooking for 3-4 hours or until done).  I normally get the Glory Greens in the bag which are usually semi-cleaned but still need 3-4 wash cycles.

I may not get to the gym to do boxing but my primary workout this week will be cardio, so I will try to walk / job (wog), as there is an indoor track at the recreational center.  There are also elliptical and treadmills that I will switch in attempts to at least get 3 miles everyday.  When you using the machines – I normally try to have an incline of 2 – 5 and a speed of 2.5 – 3.0, I am not very fast but I am at least doing something and that makes me proud.  I love to dance so each night I will also try to get in 30 minutes, along with 100 crunches and 50 pushups prior to bed.  This is the plan.  It is a stretch goal for me.  I also try to take around my gallon jar of water to try to get my water intake in for the day – having a glass prior to each meal and snack.  I bought black, raspberries, strawberries, and grapefruit to get my fruit in for the week and will eat one in between breakfast, lunch and dinner.  To switch up my snacks, I also bought some raisins and almonds  (unsalted natural) that I will mix together and have a 1/2 cup or an handful.  This will satisfy my desire for something crunchy and sweet – or that is, at least, my hope.

I bought quart size baggies.  I grabbed 5 of them and placed cup of greens in each.  I also grabbed 3 more bags and placed a turkey cutlet in each.  I had previously (on yesterday) made a salad which I have already bagged 5 baggies in the refrigerator.  The cheerios are portioned and bagged as well.  After I got home this morning (after the boxing class), I showered, collected everything I needed for work, filled a bottle full of green tea, grabbed 3 bottles of water, a bag of Cheerios, 1 bag of salad and small Tupperware container with balsamic vinaigrette dressing in it and a grapefruit –  my breakfast and lunch.

Once I leave work I will stop at the gym for a swift 30 minute walk, come home to enjoy  more water with a slice of lemon and a fruit while I take care of my home work.  I will only have to heat and eat my dinner for these next 3 days but on the third day I will begin cooking for 3 more days while I enjoy my dinner.  Reading it makes sense to me but it seems like alot.  I am sure that it would seem like alot more if I forego the preparation.  I feel like I am ahead of the game, for now.  I am ready.  We’ll see how it goes.

Quiet By Nature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

