If It Don’t Fit; Don’t Force It

-Daphne Rose Kingma
-Daphne Rose Kingma

It’s better to let go of what’s hurting us, even if it’s hurting us to let go. This was made real to me today. It is bitter sweet. Sometimes we want the things that we want and even when the Spirit of God is telling us there is something that is just not right about it; but because we want it, we continue on our journey to get it. There is something that I wanted; I asked God for it and God said “No” as I searched the internet today I found the answer that somehow my heart already knew, but I didn’t want to accept it because I desired to have it so much. It was so enticing, good, pure and beautiful but God said let it go. Gotta give God what belongs to Him, especially when it’s not yours to begin with. Wow, feeling a bit sad, but thankful for God and His guidance to Truth.  Perfect Love and Trust is about Giving. God has full control.

*********************************************

“DON’T FORCE THAT WHICH DOESN’T FIT.

                                      GOD WILL MAKE ROOM

                                                          IN YOUR LIFE

                                                                           FOR THAT WHICH IS MEANT TO BE THERE

                                                           *********************************************

I checked the lyrics of an old song, that was a about a relationship that was over and how one partner in the relationship was going to the extent of trying to make the other partner stay.  When things don’t fit together from the beginning or even in the end when there is nothing else left, the best advise is not for force it.


pic from: poundingheartbeats.com
pic from: poundingheartbeats.com

IF IT DON'T FIT (DON'T FORCE IT)
(Larry Farrow / Carolyn Johns)
Kellee Patterson - 1978
Melvin Sparks - 2005

Also recorded by: Jean Knight

If it don't fit (If it don't fit, don't force it), don't force it
If it don't fit (If it don't fit, don't force it), nah, don't force it

If it don't fit, don't force it Just relax and let it go
Just 'cause that's how you want it Doesn't mean it will be so

If it don't fit, don't force it Just relax and let it go
Just 'cause that's how you want it Doesn't mean it will be so

I'm givin' up, I'm leavin' Yes, I'm ready to be free
The thrill is gone, I'm movin on Cause you've stopped pleasin' me

I can't stand bein' handled I've exhausted each excuse
I've even stooped to fakin' it But tell me what's the use

You're tryin' hard to shame me 'Cause you wanna make me stay
But all it does is bring to mind What Mama used to say

If it don't fit, don't force it Just relax and let it go
Just 'cause that's how you want it Doesn't mean it will be so

If it don't fit, don't force it Just relax and let it go
Just 'cause that's how you want it Doesn't mean it will be so

I know there'll be no changin' We've been through all that before
I'm all worn out from talkin' And now I'm a-headin' for the door

C'mon stop your complainin' Someone else will come along
You can start your life all over Sing her your brand new song

You're tryin' hard to shame me 'Cause you wanna make me stay
But all it does is bring to mind What Mama used to say

If it don't fit, don't force it Just relax and let it go
Just 'cause that's how you want it Doesn't mean it will be so

If it don't fit, don't force it Just relax and let it go
Just 'cause that's how you want it Doesn't mean it will be so(If it don't fit, don't force it, oh, no-no)
(If it don't fit )
(Transcribed by Mel Priddle - August 2006)

Forcing, only makes it worse.  I feel this is true in our home, spiritual, and work life. We will find in life what we are looking for, if we look hard enough (negative and / or positive).  Just because we find something good and or negative, it doesn’t mean that it is ours to keep.  Sometimes I ask the question, Lord well did You even show it to me?  We need to see good things, not to desire it for ourselves if it belongs to someone else, but to desire it in the things that God has planned for us.  To say, wow, I really like that, when I get one of my own, I want mine to be similar.  We take it too far when try to go out and get that one thing that someone else already possesses, unless this is what God is telling us to do, because it is in His plan for us to have it.  It can be a thin line and we must be careful and prayerful. There is nothing like pursuing something which can never be yours and wake up years later and realize all the precious time and energy spent / wasted;  and your no closer to getting it, than when you first began your quest. When I was younger we used to say the well known saying “If you love something set it free, if it comes back it’s yours if it doesn’t it never was.”  The sadness of letting go, now, is intense but I can’t even imagine the devastation and agony there would be in trying to let go after developing an attachment to something or someone, for that matter.  It is better to let go before it becomes an engraved part of us.  It will hurt more if you hold on.  We have to learn to appreciate what remains and what is still yet to come. It is not the end of the world and something else will come along. As I resolved to let go today, I could hear Israel Houghton’s song,  It’s Not Over that says,

Is not over, its not finished its not ending, its only the beginning when god is in it,
all things are new, all things are new

i know its darkest just before dawn this might be the hardest season you’ve experienced
i know it hurts, it wont be too long cause your closer than you think you are. closer than you’ve been before
so look to the sky, help is on the way

something is moving, turning around seasons are changing, everything is different now
here comes the sun, piercing the clouds, your closer than you think you are, closer than you’ve been before

so look to the sky, look to the sky, help is on the way, help is on the way, our God is faithful, faithful to say

its not over, its not finished, its not ending, its only the beginning, its not over, its not finished
it not ending, its only the beginning, when god is in it.

It’s all good or soon will be.

Quiet By Nature

2 thoughts on “If It Don’t Fit; Don’t Force It

  1. Thank God you chose to accept what was right before your eyes, whatever it was. You know this about me. I met a girl once and she never told me that she was taken, but she continued to allow talk between us to go deeper. She never would speak to me after 6 pm but instead she would only text me. She didn’t wear a wedding ring, nor did she talk about anyone else when we were together. Everything felt right, but it had an after taste of feeling wrong. I search for her on various social media sites and it appeared that she was in a relationship with the same person on every site and they shared the same last names. They could have been sister and brother, but it was all too coincidental. I really like her and waited for her to tell me something but that something never came. I had to pull back. I’m sure that you remember this from a couple of years because I talked about her constantly (which is out of character for me) – I just didn’t want to let ago. It happened fast but I felt that she could be the one.

    LZ

Leave a Reply

