in it to spin it

Spin Cycle Indoor Cycling Class at a Gym Categ...
Spin Cycle Indoor Cycling Class at a Gym Category:Indoor cycling (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The past week I purchased a spin bike to help me remain dedicated on those days that run long… when I leave in darkness and come in, in darkness. I had hoped to always dedicate at least 30 – 45 minutes per day to do something good for myself. There were those moments when I arrived home but living in an upstairs apartment did not allot me the luxury of working out. I have neighbors who also live above me who walk, move things around, fall, drop things and when it happens, it always sounds like an eight ton elephant tearing the place down.  I am careful and conscience of this fact and do not want to bring the same type of annoyance to my downstairs neighbor.  Aerobics, treadmills and many other exercises  were considered but my final decision rested on a high performance spin stationary cycle.

I am quite familiar with spin as I used to attend classes at the gym every morning and it was tough to get used to.  The pain and agony of the seat, calloused behind, and becoming acclimated to something new was difficult, but  I did it.  I endured it all and eventually just as everyone had informed me the soreness, callouses went away as did the newness and I was then able to enjoy the music, the rigorous ride; not to mention I enjoyed the class.  The amount of calories burned in one session also helped to push spin to the top of the list.  I am now well on my way and enduring the soreness of the class; I’ve located many spin cycle courses on youtube, so that I could save money and time working out.  I’ve been told over the years that gel seats and biker shorts are designed to help give a bit more cushion to your tush which I can attest to but truly the first few weeks of riding as a newbie or beginning again after not riding for some time… just know that it will be a bit uncomfortable.

The great thing about this bike is that I am still able to multitask while completing my workout.  It is a high impact workout but occasionally I am still able to read, listen to things that didn’t get the proper attention during the day or I can just chill, let it all out and enjoy the ride. Some say that in just one hour on a spin bike one can burn anywhere from 500 – 800 calories.   For me spinning is an attitude, the music, the cadence, the energy are all part of it. You’ll like or hate it. When I first began spinning there was equal parts of me that hated it but there was something inside that would not allow it to defeat me, something that told me that I would be back again, something that made me feel that when I wanted to raise the bar, to challenge myself, to push a little further beyond my comfort zone, that I could meet back at this place for a time of my life and it would be worth every minute.

English: Photo of a criterium road bicycle rac...
English: Photo of a criterium road bicycle race. Boston Beanpot collegiate cycling weekend, Tufts University criterium race Image taken 8 MAY 2006 in Sommerville, MA by Joshua Furman on a Canon PowerShot SD400, focal length 54mm, 1/250s, f7.1. Image to be included in article on Criterium bike racing. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

No matter what others feel about it, I feel that I am getting something out of it and that  feeling is the top feeling that matters. Welcome to the ride. I can’t wait to see myself on the other side.

Quiet

One thought on “in it to spin it

  1. Thanks to each of you for your comments… I am not sure if these will post but I will attempt to include the comments that automatically show up in my span. I am skeptically about automatically adding info that appears in SPAM but these appear to be with the exception that some of them had 2 emails combined into one…

    Author
    Comment In Response To
    Select All
    Author
    Comment In Response To
    Select comment
    cricket live
    Credo@yahoo.com
    Submitted on 2013/05/14 at 1:40 am
    You should take part in a contest for among the finest blogs on the web. I will suggest this site! The #1 Overall 2013 Draft Pick . . .
    1 View Post
    Select comment

    avadadanner@gmail.com
    216.59.3.237
    Submitted on
    2013/05/13 at 8:49 am

    Hi, just wanted to mention, I loved this post. It was helpful. Keep on posting! in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    Select comment
    Tracy Z. Prather
    philadelphia-photographers.net
    Submitted on
    2013/05/13 at 4:39 pm

    Tracy Z. Prather
    I love spin but hate it. Can relate with all you’ve said. in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    Select comment
    Meridith

    meridith.mauro@gmx.net

    Submitted on
    2013/05/19 at 12:19 pm
    I really love your blogsite.. Excellent colors & theme. I’m hoping to create my own personal blog and would love to know where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Many than in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    REPLY comment

    quietbynature@gmail.com

    Submitted on
    2013/05/19 at 12:19 pm

    Thanks for your reply Meredith. The theme is one of the standard themes from word press. Go online and check it out as I am sure you find it user friendly RE: in it to spin it
    0 View Post

    Select comment

    shirleywalden@gmail.com
    This info is priceless. Can’t wait to see more of your writings in it to spin it
    0 View Post

    Select comment

    phillippfort@internetmailing.net
    1
    Submitted on
    2013/05/18 at 7:46 am
    Thanks for sharing. Your blogs are always informative. in it to spin it
    0 View Post

    Select comment

    natashamerrill@gawab.com

    Submitted on
    2013/05/18 at 8:22 am
    I am sure this piece will ring true with your followers who are also exercise buffs. I like it… really pleasant. I enjoy reading your work. in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    Select comment

    venetta_ouellette@gawab.com
    1
    Submitted on
    2013/05/19 at 12:49 am
    I am excited and very pleased to read your blogs which are always practical and true to life.
    Thanks for providing us with kinds refreshing change. You never seem fearful to blog on any subject. in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    Select comment

    aisha.hughes@gmail.com
    Submitted on
    2013/05/17 at 8:14 pm

    Can’t get enough of spin and zumba. Yes, the seat thing is unpleasant at the beginning. I miss it on those days that I choose to do other workouts.
    Keep it flowing!!! in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    Select comment

    jodyforet@gmx.net
    Submitted on
    2013/05/14 at 2:12 am

    This is not my first time visiting your site. And it appears that I am visiting even more lately, hoping to hear what you have to say. I enjoy your articles. in it to spin it
    0 View Post

    Select comment

    sharylmoore@jetemail.net
    Submitted on
    2013/05/14 at 2:29 am
    Hello I am Kavin, its my first time visiting you. I began reading about the #1 Draft pick and ended up making my way through each one of your pieces. Brilliant work. in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    Select comment

    lea_diamond@gmail.com
    Submitted on 2013/05/14 at 6:51 am
    Your work always inspires and sparks various ideas or thoughts that I haven’t thought of in a while. I had hoped to write in a previous article but didn’t. Spin is not for the faint at heart, but it’s a great workout. in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    Select comment

    vernakolb@gmail.com

    Submitted on 2013/05/15 at 10:07 pm
    Hey there great blog! Does running a blog such as
    this take a lot of work? I’ve very little knowledge word press but I hope to dig in and learn real soon. Anyways, Spin is an AWESOME workout and I can’t get enough of it. Cheers! in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    REPLY comment

    quietbynature@gmail.com

    Submitted on
    2013/05/19 at 12:19 pm

    Go online and check it out as I am sure you find it user friendly RE: in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    Select comment

    dewey.isom@yahoo.de
    I enjoy reading your post. Always makes me think or it is something that I can relate to. I’ve tried spin and I will pass!!!!
    Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment! in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    Select comment

    christopher.cave@gmail.com

    Submitted on 2013/05/16 at 8:18 am
    Spin. BOOOOO!!! LOL
    Great job! in it to spin it
    0 View Post

    Select comment

    brandenkeith@bigstring.com
    Submitted on
    2013/05/16 at 1:19 pm
    I have tried over and over again to take spin classes and just can get through the initial butt pain issue. More power to those who can.
    Submitted on 2013/05/17 at 7:03 am
    in it to spin it
    0 View Post

    Select comment

    chantecaban@gmail.com
    Another great article> I bookmarked you!!, I love your site! Submitted on 2013/05/17 at 6:36 pm
    in it to spin it
    0 View Post

    Select

    comment

    alfielamm@mailite.com
    Every weekend I used to visit this site, because I wanted to hear about something meaningful, glad you’re back. Keep writing. I love that I can find facts, everyday life info as well as things to make me laugh… you are quite funny, at times too. Submitted on 2013/05/21 at 11:38 am
    in it to spin it
    0 View Post
    Select comment

    claudette.ellington@bigstring.com

    Good Read!!! Spin is the one scary thing in the gym that I haven’t tried yet. Submitted on 2013/05/21 at 10:13 am
    in it to spin it
    0 View Post

Leave a Reply

