watching You, watch me

Over the past few months in my new career, God is already shaking up things. I began praying for this position over a year before walking into the door. While I didn’t know where God would put me – I made up my mind to pray for every detail (salary, days off, my supervisors, managers, co-workers, benefits, the atmosphere, promotion, Gods will etc.) The first day in the office, God was there, so too was enemy in the form of turmoil and chaos. During the few weeks of orientation/training I met up with another new employee. She found it difficult to get to orientation on time… not a good first impression. She was very bubbly, out-going, and it always appeared that she had had at least 12 cups of coffee. She asked tons of questions, many of which were answered before she arrived – late. No one would ever sit with her during lunch breaks – I believe that based on the number of eye rolls, during the day that everyone was a bit annoyed to say the least. Long story short, I learned a lot about her in a short time: the fact that she has a special needs child going to school for the first year instead of staying home with her. He doesn’t appear to like school so far. The doctors are constantly working to get his medication correct, he had severe aggression (more than likely due to the meds) and the reason her phone vibrated all during our orientation time was due to the school updating her on his outburst or they would want her to pick him up due to the aggression. She was married but was having some trouble – her husband didn’t feel that they should keep the child in there home but instead place him in a home to get the proper care. He doesn’t feels that they would be able to care for him. She fought many battles (alone) even before she made it to work, everyday. He husband has been of little help – he is tired and frustrated. She prepares food for the entire day, clothes, and has to take all responsibility because she does not want to give up her child to live in a home. She loves him too much and feels that God has given him to her for a reason. I encouraged her everyday by telling her that God would handle it. I would look her in the eyes and tell her to keep her eyes on Him and don’t remove them. Things got even worst for her when we finally made it out of orientation and into what would be our new office. The senior employees made it known in no uncertain terms that they didn’t like her. Had we been looking at the problem it would have seemed like an uphill battle. Far too many time, we look at the giant in front us and see how big he truly is, but when we look up higher (even higher still) you may see a huge (HUGE) figure standing hind that giant. That figure, YES He is the One who is in the business of slaying giants – and it may only take a pebble. She knew the Lord but needed encouragement. Many days she shed tears so hard that I would cry (of course I cry anytime I see tears). God spoke His Word into her using me as a vessel. Since then God has moved some people on and shipped some others out. Thank You Jesus!!! This past week was hard for her. Everyone in the office witness one of the women (side bar – not sure if I mentioned the fact that I work in an office with all women – very important to know) who was previously moved out of our office – she came to our office and spoke harshly to this young lady about procedures. She began pointing her finger in her face which was even more shocking. There were a few guys from an office down the hall who happened to walk in a few minutes before the drama. My co-worker asked them a few questions about procedures to ensure that she was processing her work correctly. So the other lady walked in the office and butted into the conversation (again with finger pointing and an attitude – The two gentlemen were supervisor level but not over our office and were taken off guard but so to was my co-worker. This time she couldn’t take it; she had had enough and the months of them picking on her came to a head. She began raising her voice and talking back. I quickly walked around the corner so that she was in my eye view (praying on the way) and I waited for eye contact. I moved my lips with no sound and asked her to breathe. She was too upset and was having a hard time turning back. There were managers from other offices in our office and certainly did not want them to believe that she was hostile employee; they had not been there to see her struggle. She has endured a lot from the other women. To answer your question, yes she has made our supervisor aware (a few times and was informed that she had been working with her and her attitude). The lady’s attitude was also a huge factor of why she was moved out of our office. Some of the other trouble makers were moved out as well was still with the company. I motioned to her, as I had in the past to meet me in the ladies room. She was so upset and I could tell that she wanted to get her point out and continue telling the other lady off. I waited for her to acknowledge. I secured our area and we were out to that familiar place where we had so often prayed and made our request known to God. She was so HOT; so hot that she was pacing the floor. I began speaking in low tones as I usually do when she’s upset and my witness to her is always in the form of stories (sort of like parables).

I asked her if she had ever watched the Olympics. She only shook her head (yes). While she paced I told her the story of the young girl named Kerri Strug (a gymnast). Someone, on Christian radio, had just mentioned her name, when I was at my desk. “Strug participated in the 1996 Olympics as a member of the U.S. women’s team. After compulsories, Strug was ranked 9th overall and had placed high enough to qualify herself for the all-around. She posted the second highest score on floor exercise — but qualified first in floor exercise event finals after the team final and ahead of eventual FX Gold Medalist Lilia Podkopayeva — and 4th highest on vault, which would qualify her for event finals in her two strongest events. In the team competition, an event dominated by the Russians for decades and never won by the United States, the U.S. competed with the

Russian, Romanian, and Ukrainian teams. The Russians came into the team competition with a very narrow lead. The event came down to the final rotation on the final day of the team competition. Going into the final rotation, with the Russians on floor exercise and the U.S. on vault, the U.S. women held a commanding 0.897-point  lead over the Russian team. At that point, it was possible for the Russians to take the gold if the U.S. women collapsed. The first four U.S. gymnasts landed their vaults, but struggled to land them cleanly, taking steps and hops. To add to the drama, Strug’s teammate Dominique Moceanu fell twice, registering a poor score. Strug was the last to vault for the United States.” I couldn’t image the amount of pressure she felt, everything was now weighing on her. “She under-rotated the landing of her first attempt, causing her to fall and damage her ankle. The crowd gasped. As a result, the attempt was awarded 9.162 points. Retrospectively, after a poor performance from the final Russian Roza Galieva on floor, Moceanu’s score would have been sufficient to beat the Russians even if Strug did not perform a second vault, as the lowest score for each team was dropped. However, Galieva performed after Strug, and therefore Strug needed to land a second vault on her feet in order to mathematically clinch the gold. In the time interval between Strug’s two vaults, she asked her coach, “Do we need this?” Karolyi replied, “Kerri, we need you to go one more time. We need you one more time for the gold. You can do it”. He coach could not go out on the floor to talk with her but made her keep her eyes focused on him. Don’t look down at the ankle. Don’t look at the problem, but look at me. He encouraged her that she could do it. “Strug thus limped slightly to the end of the runway for her second attempt. She landed the vault briefly on both feet, almost instantly hopping onto only her good foot, saluting the judges. She then collapsed onto her knees and needed assistance off the landing platform. She was hurt badly.” (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kerri_Strug) The completed vault received score of 9.712, guaranteeing the Americans the gold medal. Karolyi carried her onto the medals podium to join her team. She had done it!

My co-worker by this time was captivated by the story. Thank You Lord. I told her that she could do it. I further reminded her of Peter who was able to walk on water. He walked by faith, until he took his eyes off Jesus to focus on the storm – instead of his Creator. Jesus created the wind, rain, and the waves. God had created the very thing that Peter had walked on.  I looked at my coworker, firmly, and told her that that she could do it, but that we cannot afford to take our eyes off the Lord. He is greater than troublesome co-workers, marital difficulties, rude people, unfair situations, gossip, problem with finances, issues, challenges, crisis, life’s problems, etc.  It is truly easier said than done, sometimes to hate the sin and not the sinner. It is a challenge to know that if they realized (I mean truly understood) where God had brought you from they might have decided to choose another path. But even still, keep your eyes on the Lord and you won’t go under! You won’t sink! There are others who are also looking at us; searching to see if Christians are different. How will we handle things? We cannot afford to allow ourselves to get caught up in situations–frustrated, discouraged, angry, yelling, and giving in to the snares of the enemy because of people.  We cannot look to the right or the left but we must set our face like flint upon The Christ. We must focus upon the Word of God, the Lord Jesus Christ. We must watch the One who is watching us. Vengeance doesn’t belong to us, the battle is not ours to fight therefore we can’t allow it to weigh us down or for the walls to crumble in on us. We have to look up higher and rest our eyes upon our Savior.  I reminded her of Jehoshaphat when he was leading the people and all of the armies were against them but he said “Our God, will you not judge them? For we have no power to face this vast army that is attacking us.” He quickly declared, even still “We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.” (2 Chron 20:12)  The standard had been raised. I drew her attention back to the incident for a moment so that we could enjoy a quick laugh together and then in all seriousness told her never again to allow the enemy the power to abort Gods plan for her. The enemy is not worth our time. Isn’t it just so like him to wait until someone enters the room to get you worked up? As were laughing and walking out of the ladies room the young lady who had stirred up the mess passed by and seemed surprised to see laughter. God is good.

Thank You Lord for Your promise that every tongue that rises against us in judgment would be condemn by You. Thank You Lord, that are feet are firmly planted and our steps are ordered by You. Thank You for seeing even those things we cannot see or understand for being acquainted with our struggles. Thank You Lord for being with us in the tough times just was You were with the three Hebrew children (Daniel 3) in the fiery furnace. My Lord we thank You for unconditional love, for giving us the ability to turn our backs on the enemy and our faces to You. Thank You for setting healthy boundaries for us and those that we encounter. Thank You for giving us perfect peace that passes all understanding. I know that You remember our every prayer and everything concerning us must align with Your Word. Thank You for being God!  I am grateful. Amen.

Psalm 139:1-10 O LORD, you have searched me and you know me. I’m an open book to you; even from a distance, you know what I’m thinking. You know when I leave and when I get back; I’m never out of your sight. You know everything I’m going to say before I start the first sentence. I look behind me and you’re there, then up ahead and you’re there, too— your reassuring presence, coming and going. This is too much, too wonderful— I can’t take it all in! Is there anyplace I can go to avoid your Spirit? To be out of your sight? If I climb to the sky, you’re there! If I go underground, you’re there! If I flew on morning’s wings to the far western horizon, You’d find me in a minute— you’re already there waiting!  The Message Bible.

quiet

Leave a Reply

